Location property problem

brianh

I am using StampManage2017, I have been using StampManage for at least 10 years.

I use the "Location" property/field to track the album holding each stamp, selecting it usually when the stamp is entered to the database or by double clicking the stamp from the main screen and selecting from the "Stamp Properties" > "Additional Information" tab.

Situation: Canada #4 album (for example) is about to burst so I split the contents, moving half into a new binder which becomes Canada #5. I then go to "View By.." > "Location", select the Canada#4. Then it is easy to select the group of moved stamps, right-click to "Properties" and change the location in the "Current Location" drop-down list, or add a new location. This can also be done from the main screen by selecting multiple stamps.

Problem: The change does not show in the main screen of the program. The "Location" column will be empty. If I double-click on a single stamp to "Properties>Additional information" the location is correct. Click OK to the properties and only now will the location display in the "Location" column of the main screen. There is a disconnect somewhere between setting location in the group properties form and displaying the property in the main window. Re-starting the program does not help. I don't know if this happens with other properties/fields on the group properties form.

I could select/double-click each affected stamp one at a time but that defeats the purpose of the group properties form.

Is there a solution?

Brian

Hi; I had started to use the Album/page fields, but Location did all I needed so I stuck with that. So long as I know what album it is in I can find the item. I think another thing was that when adding a number of stamps the Location will remain set when I use apply to add the stamp, while the album had to be selected again for each. (I'll try it again on the next batch to refresh my memory)

Brian

• 4 years later...

Hello again.